?

Log in

No account? Create an account
Recent Entries Friends Archive Profile Tags Emma Love's Stories
 
 
 
 
 
 
So, I was visiting a LJ and came across this, and I must admit my jaw hit the floor. The link within the link gave me an access denied page, so here's another link with the information that I think can be accessed by everyone.

A Quote from Smith herself about this:
I want to ask anyone who was thinking of it, not to boycott Harper's or anyone. It just doesn't make sense. Although I wanted and still want more than anything to be able to continue The Vampire Diaries series myself, there's no point in not trying the new books. (And remember, for fans of Bonnie and Damon, and strict Stefan and Elena fans, the immediate dynamics may be more to your liking.) Besides which, Midnight, which is all mine, is coming out in March, and I believe there may be some of my writing in Phantom.

Now admittedly I don't care for Damon/Elena as a pairing in the books or on the show (and absolutely love book!Damon/Bonnie). In fact, as far as the show is concerned, I loathe the idea of Damon/Elena (and ain't exactly fond of the idea of show!Damon/Bonnie). Not saying one can't ship Damon/Elena, I generally don't care what anyone ships, I just think the way the show set everything up would make Damon and Elena getting together diminish Elena as a character. However, in the books, it makes much more sense then it does on the show - Elena met and liked Damon in the books long before she knew exactly who and what he was, and I get that feelings can't spin on a dime. So, while I can see why and how when it comes to the books, I admit I wouldn't want Damon/Elena to happen there either.

Also, admittedly I didn't care for Smith's writing of the new trilogy, but in all honesty Damon/Elena wasn't even really a blip on the problems I had with the new trilogy, so to see Smith fired because she's writing to much Damon/Elena just makes my mind boggle. Mainly, I just felt like she'd lost touch with the characters, not just Damon and Elena (though I do hate Smith for turning Damon in to a woobie - I like badass characters to stay badass, and I positively loathe what she did to Caroline), but almost all the characters in this new trilogy felt wrong/off/whatever you want to call it, and so this new trilogy had characters that did not remotely feel like the characters I remembered from way back. Which is why, while reading the first and only one I read, I thought she'd have been better off starting a new series with these ideas rather then revisiting her old one.

What many don't know is that The Vampire Diaries started out as a work-for-hire series in which L.J. Smith was brought on board to write. The characters and the world and basically everything about the series was all Smith's work, however, HarperCollins owned the project and it's copyright, essentially making it their series rather than Smith's.

*sigh* I want to rage about all this, because even though I don't like Damon/Elena and feel that I might like the non-Smith books better, I still feel offended on Smith's behalf, but for some reason I just can't seem to take a stand against the company who fired her, and you have no idea how odd that truly is, I'm usually always ready to take a stand against a company. But, I guess I figure that Smith understood what she was signing when she signed, and for some reason I can't seem to hold that against the company, because if she did know and understand what she signed, then she had to know that this could potentially happen. But that doesn't stop me from being more then a little offended on her behalf.
 
 
 
 
 
 
Read a page of the books at the store once but didn't think I'd care for them since I saw the show first. However, I can't beleive Smith got fired! To be the person who created the universe and then get booted? Damn!
Yeah, the books and the show are really drastically different. There are some vague matching things, but those things are generally very subtle and very vague.

However, with the books themselves, I think if I hadn't started with the last book (or rather book four now, but the last book back in the day) I might never have went back and read the first three, because if you like show!Elena, you're really gonna find book!Elena lacking.
(I mean, I don't, or didn't, hate book!Elena, but show!Elena is just so awesome that book!Elena is found sadly lacking now.)

Actually, when you get right to it, the only book characters I like better then show characters are Damon, Bonnie, and Meredith - the latter which has no show avatar. Then there's Caroline, who I like both show and book wise, but she's still a really different character from book to show.

But on the show, Stefan (like Elena) is simply ten times more awesome then book!Stefan. So, while I do still like/enjoy those first four books, I can completely see where someone who likes the show wouldn't like the books, or someone who likes the books wouldn't enjoy the show.